Top Goalscorers in World Cup History

Top goalscorers in World Cup history Are you wondering who is the best goalscorer in the world or the highest goalscorer in international football history?

In this article, we will look at the best goalscorer of all time in the world, but categorically at the World Cup. You will also see who is the player(s) with the most goals in one World Cup.

Here is the list of top goalscorers in World Cup history

Lionel Messi – 11 goals

The goal scored in the semi-final against Croatia on penalties took Lionel Messi to 11 goals in 25 World Cup appearances. The Argentine striker took part in five editions: 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018, and 2022.

Jürgen Klinsmann – 11 goals

Germany’s Jürgen Klinsmann scored 11 goals in 17 matches at 1990, 1994, and 1998 World Cups. Klinsmann is Germany’s third leading player at the 16- and 14-year-old World Cup finals, after Miroslav Klose and Gerd Müller.

Sándor Kocsis – 11 goals

With 11 goals in 5 games scored in 1954 with his Hungary, Sándor Kocsis scored 4 goals for Germany in the knockout stages. In the final, Germany overturned the result by defeating Hungary.

Pelé – 12 goals

After scoring six goals on his World Cup debut in 1958, Pelé contributed significantly to Brazil’s titles in 1962 and 1970. Pelé subsequently scored a further six goals to finish with 12 goals in 14 matches across four editions, ranking fifth on the list. of the most beautiful goals of the World Cup. Although he never won the Golden Boot in any of the editions, no other player in the history of football has managed to win the World Cup three times like Pelé.

Just Fontaine – 13 goals

French striker Just Fontaine features on this illustrious list, despite only participating in one World Cup, 1958 one in Sweden. Just Fontaine has scored in all of France’s matches, including a hat-trick on his World Cup debut against Paraguay four goals in the third-place play-off against Germany, scoring 13 goals in 5 matches. 

Gerd Müller – 14 goals

Gerd Müller scored 14 goals at the FIFA World Cup in just 13 matches across two editions. Ten of them, including hat tricks against Hungary and Peru in the group stages, were scored during the 1970 World Cup.

Ronaldo Nazario – 15 goals

Ronaldo Luis Nazario de Lima, better known as Ronaldo (phenomenon), is the second most prolific goalscorer in the World Cup with 15 goals in 19 games. Ronaldo Nazario is a Brazilian player who has participated in 4 editions of the World Cup 1994,1998,2002,2006.

Miroslav Klose – 16 goals

Germany striker Miroslav Klose holds the record for most goals in FIFA World Cup history, scoring 16 times in 24 matches. The Germans took part in four editions: 2002, 2006, 2010, and 2014.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *